Home > Fat Acceptance > Shopping Sadness

Shopping Sadness

My friend and I are going out on the town tomorrow night. She didn’t have anything appropriate to wear so we marched on down to the local fat girl clothing store. Now, I hate shopping, but the clothes in this store make me happy. It’s wonderful to see a company taking fat women’s fashion needs seriously and not offering up an endless selection of muumuus and clothes for your grandmother.

My shopping experience is usually nice, but I felt sad this time. I was eavesdropping happened to be in earshot of other women in the changing room and there was much body hatred. One woman even said to the sales associate something along the lines of “It’s not the clothes, I just need a new body.” How sad is that? I wanted to pretend to be Gok Wan from How To Look Good Naked, give them all a hug and tell them that they’re gorgeous just as they are.

Categories: Fat Acceptance
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment