Home > Body Image, Fat Acceptance, self esteem > Fat acceptance and breast reduction surgery

Fat acceptance and breast reduction surgery

I would like to hear from any fat acceptance advocates who have had breast reduction surgery, or anybody who has an opinion about it.

Yesterday was the 2 year anniversary of my surgery. I had wanted this surgery for many many years due to pain and discomfort, but also for aesthetic reasons, and because of reactions from other people. Women’s bodies seem to be game for any and all public comments. I had been putting up with stares and rude comments from people since I was 11.

I had the surgery and I’ve never felt better. I don’t have any more pain in my neck and shoulders, it’s easier to do my job and to exercise.  Hell, it’s even easier to sleep and breathe. People don’t stare and make rude comments anymore. I don’t pay a fortune for bras anymore. This surgery isn’t right for everybody but I don’t regret my decision in the slightest.

Now, just bear with me while I ramble to myself. I am a full believer in fat acceptance. I believe that there is too much pressure on people, women in particular, to be thin by any means necessary. I don’t believe that all fat people are going to keel over and die by their 30th birthday (yes, I do know fat senior citizens). I believe that weight-loss dieting is often counterproductive to achieving health. And I feel that acceptance is the one of the keys to health and happiness.

But what do you do if parts of you make you genuinely uncomfortable, in a physical and/or emotional way?

Are fat acceptance and breast reduction surgery compatible? I wouldn’t dream of having surgery to reduce my stomach or my legs. But my chest just felt too big, too uncomfortable. It’s not the same as weight-loss surgery in my opinion, but it’s something, I don’t know what.

Does any of this make sense?  Does anybody have any thoughts?

  1. July 21, 2011 at 4:27 am

    It makes sense to me.

    Firstly I think fat acceptance has to allow people body autonomy. We can’t be telling people what to do with their bodies while we demand they mind their own business about ours.

    And secondly, it seems to me you didn’t get it done to please others, but because your body was in pain and you were very uncomfortable with your breasts the way they were. I have a rack of doom myself, but it has never given me pain or discomfort, so I can’t imagine reducing them myself. However, if I got any pain or discomfort, I would totally consider it!

    • July 21, 2011 at 9:54 am

      I wouldn’t have done it if I wasn’t in genuine discomfort. I wanted to get it done years earlier but my doctor told me to try to lose weight first. I wonder how less damage would have been done to my back if I had the surgery the first time I asked for it.

  2. Lauren C :)
    July 24, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    I happen to know EXACTLY how you feel. I had reduction sugary a few years ago and have been happy about it every since! It took years and years until finally one day, while talking about my lower back, my Dr. asked me how I would feel about reduction sugary. I really had to hold myself back from hugging her!
    I went for my initial consolation just positive I’d get the same “I’d like you to loose about 50lbs then come back and see me” line I’d always heard! To my surprise she was ready to move forward. While the surgery was the right move for me, at the right time I would never try and tell someone else what is or is not right for her body and/or her breasts. I think body autonomy is/should be as important as body acceptance. Finally, if you think this surgery is for you and you live in Dallas/Ft. Worth area send me an email and I’ll send you the name of the Dr. I used (yes, I used a woman). couponinglauren@rocketmail.com. Put the subject line as breasts.
    Yes it’s a real email address, please don’t spam me, and I’m not looking to argue this subject either.

    Thank you,

    Lauren

  3. @traveleish
    August 25, 2011 at 6:04 am

    I thought you were putting it off for other reasons — cost, unpaid time off work, fear of the surgery process…. etc?
    Didn’t know your doctor told you to lose weight first.
    I’m glad you are happy with the result. It sounds like your quality of life has improved since the op.

    • August 25, 2011 at 7:02 am

      The cost was a factor that disappeared after my parents offered to help out. The fear was real, but I had had enough and really wanted it done. I came close to backing out though. So glad I didn’t! My only regret is that I didn’t do it sooner. I am so happy with this new doctor who encouraged me to do it.

  1. July 21, 2011 at 3:40 pm

Leave a Reply

