Home > Fat Acceptance, Fat Hate > With friends like this…

With friends like this…

Me and a friend, the same friend that I had a ‘lil chat with about his questionable comments about Gabourey Sidibe a few months back, recently did a 5k charity walk together.  As there isn’t much to do while walking such a distance other than look at scenery and talk, we talked.  I felt that it might have been a tad rude to pull out my phone and start reading my Twitter stream.

Being a male that is very aware of of the presence of females, he started to comment on some of our fellow walker’s attire.  Most of them were wearing Lululemon athletic clothing.  In particular he was commenting on how the women’s behinds look in the pants.  I mentioned to him that I wrote to Lululemon to complain that their clothes only go up to size 12 and that bigger women also want nice clothing to exercise in.  He asked if I got a reply, I said no.  He said that he wasn’t surprised and that he agreed with them.  I said “So fat women don’t deserve nice clothes to exercise in?” He said “Well, you wouldn’t want them to ruin those pants.”  I politely told him that he needs to learn how to mind his own business.

I mean, how dare we all not conform to his idea of attractiveness.  How dare we?!?  Obviously the whole point of our existence is to please him sexually.  Duh!

And the next time he says that fat people should exercise, I will remind him that lack of proper clothing is one barrier, as are rude comments about our appearance.

He’s lucky I didn’t say anything about him being bald.

Categories: Fat Acceptance, Fat Hate
  1. ThePowerofMyth
    October 22, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    Oh wow this is so awesome! Thank you for standing up and saying something back! Seriously it takes more guts than most people understand to stand against society’s norm so thank you!

    • October 24, 2010 at 12:35 pm

      I’m trying… I haven’t quite mastered it yet but I’m trying.

  2. October 23, 2010 at 9:00 am

    You know what? You deserve better friends.

    • October 24, 2010 at 12:36 pm

      Yes…. We’ve been friends for about 20 years now, but it’s becoming problematic. Nobody else I know would say stuff like that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

