Home > Fat Acceptance > Gabourey Sidibe, Concern Trolling & Me

Gabourey Sidibe, Concern Trolling & Me

I don’t have cable or satellite, so last night I found a website that was streaming the Academy Award red carpet.  I wasn’t much concerned with he actual awards as I’ve only seen one of the nominated movies so far (Up In The Air).  I just wanted to see Gabourey Sidibe.  For those who don’t know, she is the star of the movie “Precious” and an inspiration to fat women everywhere with her confidence, sense of humour and ease with herself.

I have a friend visiting, and he came over to my computer when I became vocally excited at seeing her.  I laughed loudly and gave her a thumbs-up when she made a joke about eating cookies.

My friend, a mid-30’s male with a great love of supermodels, said “she’s probably a great actress and all, but she should be concerned about her weight.”  I probably should have taken a deep breath and relaxed, but I got all shrill on him.  “You don’t know her, you don’t know anything about her health, or how much she eats or how much she exercises.  You can’t judge people without knowing them.  Blah blah blah . . .”  I told him about how correlations between fatness and certain illnesses does not equal causation.  I told him that the fact that he knew of a few ill fat people does not mean doom for the entire fat population.

And the nerve of him to say things like this to me, knowing full well that I do exercise and that I don’t sit around eating ice cream all day.  I exercise more than he does and I eat less than he does, yet I still felt the judgemental finger pointing at me when he was on about being “concerned for her health.”  And even if I did sit around eating ice cream all day, who is he to comment on something that is none of his business?

I was about to ask him if he was concerned for the health of other people, like joggers who ruin their knees or people under a lot of stress or people who don’t get enough sleep.  And if maybe the stress of having the whole world think that you’re a disgusting pig might contribute to poor health.  Fortunately for him (and me because I’m sure my blood pressure had increased at that point) his phone rang and he had to go meet somebody.

I must say that I don’t weigh as much as Gabourey Sidibe does, so maybe that’s why I haven’t heard my friend use this line of thinking before.  But it’s scary.  If even intelligent, forward-thinking people such as my friend fall into the fat-hate trap, how are we supposed to reverse the trend?

Categories: Fat Acceptance
  1. March 8, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    I love that she “should” be concerned…that’s the part of the dialog about the “obesity” epidemic that I just find ironic. We fat people “should” be concerned. I say that all the skinny people are concerned enough for all of us…we fat folks should focus on living our lives to the fullest.

  2. March 12, 2010 at 11:19 am

    Damn, you gave him a motherload with both barrels, did he look at all faint?

    • March 12, 2010 at 4:01 pm

      I’m sure he was sorry he said anything. We’ve been friends for many many years, and this is probably the first time he’s ever seen me angry. He hasn’t brought it up since so hopefully next time he will think first.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

