Home > Fat Acceptance, HAES > Fat Acceptance for Haters

Fat Acceptance for Haters

Bri at Fat Lot Of Good brought my attention to this absolute gem by  “polimicks” about what fat acceptance is and isn’t.  It’s called “I can NOT believe we have to have this conversation again.”   Here is an excerpt:

“Fat Acceptance does NOT mean that one is against better diets (as in way of eating as a whole) for everyone, including increasing access to healthier and less processed foods.

Fat Acceptance does NOT mean that one is against exercise, or that one thinks kids getting exercise is a bad thing.

Fat Acceptance does NOT mean that I think you need to find me fuckable, or even likable. I probably don’t like you, either.

What Fat Acceptance means is that you have to treat me like a human being, with courtesy and observing the bounds of civil interaction. That’s it.

No one in Fat Acceptance land is advocating that everyone sit on their ass in front of the tv and mainline lard and cornstarch, washing it down with Jolt cola.

No one in Fat Acceptance land says kids shouldn’t go outside and play.

NO ONE. Hear that, douchefucking assheads?”

I think I’m in love.

Categories: Fat Acceptance, HAES
  1. bri
    February 21, 2010 at 7:02 am

    Glad you liked it! I thought it was pretty damn awesome too!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment