Home > Uncategorized > My Best Friend’s Wedding? Not so much

My Best Friend’s Wedding? Not so much

I’ve known my best friend for about 15 years.  We’ll call her Buffy.  For about 9 of those years she’s been in a relationship with her partner, let’s call him Bill.

So my friend and Bill have been together for about 9 years, living together for 7.  I don’t really know him, but from what I can see they get along very well, have common interests, all the good stuff that keeps a couple together.  Except for one thing:  she wants to get married and he doesn’t.

She told him from the very beginning that she wanted to get married.  When they moved in together she told him that she wasn’t just going to live with him, that the relationship had to end up in marriage.  9 years later he’s still dragging his feet.  This is fine, he doesn’t have to get married if he doesn’t want to.  I myself don’t really believe that marriage is necessary for a happy relationship.  But he does have to be honest with her about whether they will ever get married, or why he doesn’t want to.

Is he stringing her along?  Is she pressuring him too much?  Those aren’t questions for me to answer.  All I know is that I don’t like seeing Buffy hurt and upset like this.

Have you ever experienced anything like this before?  Do things like this make or break a relationship?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

