Home > Fat Acceptance, HAES > Now what do I blog about?

Now what do I blog about?

I don’t think I can find one thing to focus on to write about repeatedly. Maybe because I don’t have the attention span to hold interest in one thing? Who knows. I have a lot of varied interests that are more prominent or take a backseat depending on what is happening with my life. These are a few off the top of my head:

1. Body Image

I don’t think most people realize how much effort it takes to hate your body. You can waste a lot of time staring in the mirror wishing that some aspect of your body was different. Too many people (mostly women) hate themselves and their bodies because they are trying to live up to some unrealistic, media-driven ideal.

To me it makes much more sense to learn to accept yourself just the way you are. Nobody is perfect. What is perfect anyways? I think it’s perfect when people learn to love themselves in spite of the messages we get from the media about what we should look like.

2. Fat Acceptance

I am a fat woman. I have always known that some people, such as myself, just aren’t meant to be thin. I have always felt that people deserve to be treated with dignity and respect whether they are fat or thin. I have recently taken a step back and decided that being healthy and happy is more important than being thin. Therefore I will no longer be dieting.

I am a believer in Health At Every Size (HAES). The idea is that if you can learn to listen to your body, your body will tell you what it needs. No foods are forbidden. You can listen to your internal cues, eat what you want when you want it, and stop eating when you’re full. When I say ‘eat what you want’ I don’t mean eat an entire bucket of KFC in one sitting. I mean if you want a piece of chocolate eat it, forbidding certain foods only makes you obsess about them.

Combine this with a mode of exercise that you enjoy rather than something that feels like punishment (exercise can be just about anything, it doesn’t only have to be done in a gym). If you can do these things your body will settle into it’s weight set-point, the healthiest and most natural weight for your body. For some people this means weight loss, for others it means weight gain. Some people will be thin and others will be fat, but both will be healthier.

By the way, fat does not mean stupid, lazy, gluttonous, smelly or ugly. I am none of these things.

3. Aviation

I have a strange interest in aviation. I love watching planes in the sky. I love going to the airport to watch the planes take off and land. But the reason my interest is strange is that I am more focused on aviation mishaps and accidents than I am in actual flight. I am terrified of flying so this obsession is probably not such a good idea.

4. Music

Music is like air, I can’t live without it. Everything goes better with music. My favourite band is Pearl Jam. According to my iTunes my most listened to bands are Les Savy Fav, Queens Of The Stone Age, Alkaline Trio, Q And Not U, Weezer, Sleater-Kinney, Minor Threat and Magneta Lane. I will listen to anything except for most modern hip-hop, homophobic reggae and new country.

5. Travel

So many places to see, so little money . . . But there are some places I definitely want to see eventually: New York City,
Iceland, The Netherlands, Egypt, Dubai, Australia, Caracas, Cancun . . .

So we’ll see how it goes. Maybe I will learn to focus a bit more, maybe I will write the first thing that comes to my head. Stay tuned!

Categories: Fat Acceptance, HAES
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

